From 2011-2015, Insect Ark operated as the one-woman solo project of bassist/multi-instrumentalist/composer Dana Schechter; she made three records in which she recorded and played all the instruments (Collapsar 7”, Long Arms 10”, Portal/Well LP).

From 2015-2019 drummer/electronics builder Ashley Spungin was in the band. Hilights include 2018’s Marrow Hymns on Profound Lore Records, EU and N. American tours, a recording residency at synth mecca EMS Stockholm, and appearances at Roadburn, Basilica Soundscape, and Northwest Terror Fest. In July 2019, Spungin and Schechter stopped working together.

In September 2019, drummer Andy Patterson (SubRosa) joined the band. The duo spent the month at The Boar’s Nest, the Salt Lake City studio Patterson owns and operates, preparing for a N. America tour with Finland’s Oranssi Pazuzu, and directly after, entered the studio to record "The Vanishing" with NYC engineer Colin Marston. The album was released February 2020 on Profound Lore Records.

After 9 years of existence, Insect Ark has come full circle to re-embrace solo work on 2021’s "Future Fossils" (Consouling Sounds). Side A features three all-synthesizer tracks which share an alternate facet of Schechter's writing, as an exercise in the spirit of stark minimalism. The EP's B-side is a 23-minute live noise improv set, performed at a converted church in Brooklyn NY in 2016, with Schechter on lap steel/synths, and former collaborator Ashley Spungin on synths/percussion. 
Schechter will continue solo work - for both recording and performance - alongside the “duo/band” format of the band, which continues to forge forward with plans for new recordings and touring in 2022.

Dana Schechter has worked as a collaborator for studio/stage with Swans, Angels of Light, Zeal & Ardor, Arabrot, Wrekmeister Harmonies, Gnaw, Bee and Flower, Gifthorse, and more. Starting in Spring 2020, she joined as a primary touring member of Swans. Andy Patterson has worked in bands such as SubRosa, DONE, and the Otolith, among numerous others.





2021, Future Fossils, LP/CD, Consouling Sounds

2020: The Vanishing, LP/CD, Profound Lore Records 

2018: Marrow Hymns, LP/CD, Profound Lore Records 

2017: Portal/Well, Ltd Edition LP, Sleeping Giant Glossolalia Records 

2016: Long Arms/Maria W. Horn split, Cassette, XKatedral Records 

2015: Windless, 7” Lathe Cut Single, Utech Records 

2015: Portal/Well, CD, Autumnsongs Records

2013: Long Arms, 10” EP, Geweih Ritual Documents

2012: Collapsar, 7” Single, Lancashire & Somerset Records